top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyuu

Past Lives and Kintypes

Past lives =/= Kintypes


Or, past lives do not automatically count as kintype, just like your kintype does not need to have a past life attached to it to be valid.


Just because you don't have past lives of being said nonhuman creature, it doesn't mean you aren't that. Thousands of ways of explaining how we as otherkind happen, but it all boils down to "I feel (in some way) not human, I am this nonhuman creature".


Likewise, just because you have these nonhuman past lives, it does not mean you are automatically kin of that in this life.

The concept and belief are NOT an alterhuman concept, we do NOT own the monopoly for it.

And really, if we go by this sort of idea that past lives == kintype. What about all the human lives one had been through? Are we still that human you may or may not remember as a past life?

Also, to show you why this thinking can be a problem, "it's a past life, it counts!" because on the other side of that thinking is "you don't have a past life? obviously, you aren't it." It bothers me as I treasure my kardiatype (which is very obviously not a kintype) a lot, and do not need people to see it as me. I do not want to be in the shadow of my past.

Meanwhile, I'm trying to do self-discovery with my own kintype and I don't need people telling me to meditate and find it from memories because I do not have any. Nor is it a past life. I'm living in the present, stop pushing me to live in the past.

bottom of page