top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyuu

Recording Dream Memories

When one lucid dreams, and wishes to remember their dreams, they are often advised to keep a dream journal. It keeps one‘s brain into the habit of actively recalling the hazy memories of even lucid dreams.


However, I wish to add more to that.


For me, it is much more involved than simply journaling, sometimes if I don’t wake up on the right side of the bed, I cannot recall a single thing to even jot it down.


The quality of sleep, the time one spends in unconsciousness, the condition one wakes up in, all attribute to how one can stay connected to one’s dream.


In my experience, I recall dreams much better if I spend a couple of moments, without disturbance, just lay still. While still waking up from sleep, I lull myself to a state where I am semi-lucid, a limbo state between the waking and the unconscious. It allows my mind to process the flighty dream memories, cataloging key points to store in my conscious mind, where I can more easily access them immediately after I completely wake up, sometimes even years later.


But do not forget the habit of journaling your dream whatever you can, sometimes it can come back to you much later and hit you with it, then gone again.

bottom of page